Stevens girls on podium at track championships

Véronique Parent and Ariane Bonhomme competed at the Quebec Track Championships in Bromont on the weekend of Sept. 8, after a one-week weather delay. Here’s Véronique’s take on the event.

Véronique Parent, left, and Ariane Bonhomme at the Quebec track championships, along with former Stevens-The Cyclery rider Catherine Dessureault.

Véronique Parent, left, and Ariane Bonhomme at the Quebec track championships, along with former Stevens-The Cyclery rider Catherine Dessureault.

The Quebec championships was a great way to end the summer for Stevens-The Cyclery. Because of the weather, the omnium was squeezed to be hold Sunday, so they dropped two events out of six.

The day started with an individual pursuit, which was 3k for the elite women (Ariane). It was good for third place with a really close finish between the second, third and fourth place… less than a second!

Then came the flying 200m. With a little technical mistake, Ariane still managed to get a strong fourth place.

The points race was a really exciting one. With a lot of attacks, Ariane got in a group that lapped the field, which is good for 20 points. The same group went to lap the field a second time, some of the girls were able to catch the group. Unfortunately, Ariane was short on a couple of laps to be able to catch the group a second time. She got a fourth place again, putting her fourth on the omnium standing by one point from the third girl with one event to go, the standing 500m.

Ariane knew she needed a strong last race to be able to stand on the podium at the end of the day. She focused on the task she had to do, remembering every step needed for a strong start and getting to speed as fast as possible. It was good for the third time, and a place on the bottom step of the podium. What a great way to start her first track season as an elite.

For me (Véronique), after a month training in Edmonton with my coach Cameron Jennings, the provincials were really a test to see where my form was at.

The same as Ariane, my first race was the pursuit, but because I’m a junior, the distance was 2k. I manage to get the first place and I was pretty happy about the time I did!

I did a good time at the flying 200m after , but not as good as I usually do and got a second place.

For the points race, because there was not a lot of junior girls competing , we were racing with the elite. I always like to race with elites because it makes you learn a lot on how to race. It was a great race.Because we were racing with the elite women, we did not have separate points so once the 5,3,2 and 1 points were gone, it began to be more of a scratch race for the junior girls because Ariane’s group were getting all the points so I finished the race racing like if it was a scratch race and finished first of the juniors.

I was excited to do the 500m because it is my favorite race and I had to do great if I wanted to keep my first place and I did a good one and kept my first place on the podium. It was good for me to see where I was before the upcoming Nationals.

