Dal-Cin waving the flag for Ontario and Canada

Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery’s Matteo Dal-Cin is competing at the Canada Summer Games in Sherbrooke, Que. this week, and already has a gold medal in the time trial and a silver medal in the road race. Meanwhile, his teammates have won gold (Annie Foreman-Mackey in the women’s time trial) and silver (Adriane Provost in the women’s road race).

The cycling competitions at the Games wrap up Saturday with the criterium, but Dal-Cin and Foreman Mackey will soon swap their provincial uniforms for the Team Canada kit. Dal-Cin explains:

With the racing scene in Canada normally winding down in August while riders make their transition into cyclocross or the offseason, this year I have been given the opportunity to finish my season off a little differently.

After representing Ontario at the Canada Summer Games in Sherbrooke I’ll be competing for Canadaat the Jeux de la Francophonie in Nice, France. Joining me from the Stevens crew at CSG are Annie  for the Ontario team and Adriane for team Quebec. After a week of racing in Sherbrooke Annie and I will continue on to Brussels to start our European trip with team Canada.

The past week has been filled with excitement preparing for my nearly month-long bike racing vacation from normal life, and I’m looking forward to putting all the prep work behind me and getting to just focus on the races. In Sherbrooke I’ve managed a couple of good rides, once over in Europe it will be unfamiliar territory when it comes to the level of racing and the courses we’ll be seeing. I’m hoping to gain some valuable racing experience in my time overseas and enjoy the culture in a couple of beautiful cities that I’ll have the pleasure of visiting.

