Stevens riders win 2 golds at Canada Games

Annie Foreman-Mackey

Annie Foreman-Mackey

Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery riders took both time trial gold medals at the Canada Summer Games Monday courtesy Annie Foreman-Mackey and Matteo Dal-Cin. Annie talks about her first Canada Games and her first chance to represent Canada internationally later this month.

Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery is well-represented at the 2013 Canada Summer Games in Sherbrooke, QC with Adriane Provost racing for the Quebec Provincial Team, Matteo Dal-Cin and Annie Foreman-Mackey racing for Team Ontario, and team director Jenny Trew as one of the coaches with Team Ontario. Held every four years (with the Canada Winter Games in between), the last summer games were hosted by PEI in 2009.

This will be my first experience as part of a true multi-sport games, and I am incredibly honoured and excited to be taking part, especially because there are not many chances in one’s career to be at an event like this. After the TT on Monday we have a road race on Wednesday and a points criterium on Saturday.

Click here for the women’s TT results.
Click here for the men’s TT results.

(Interesting Fact: Jenny and her partner, Chris Reid, both competed at the 2001 CSG in London, ON!)

Following our adventures at BC Superweek, I’ve taken the time to catch up on work, recover, get some good training in, as well as spend some time with my family in Kingston and at a cottage completely off the grid on Danby Lake near Sharbot Lake. I think this time to relax, recover and recharge will serve me well going into the next 5 weeks of exciting racing!

The day after we arrive home from CSG, Matteo and I will both be heading to Belgium to take part in a National Team Project in Europe.

I will have the opportunity to race with Team Canada at the Lotto Belisol Tour in Belgium, a local Kermesse, and conclude the trip with the Jeux de la Francophonie in Nice, France. The Jeux de la Francophonie is held every four years and combines both artistic and sporting events and is open to all French-speaking nations. This is the first Jeux to include cycling as one of the athletic events!

This trip marks my first time racing in Europe and – from what I have heard – it will definitely be a jump for me in terms of bigger and deeper fields, narrow roads, challenging courses, and a different style of racing. It will be a new challenge for me but I’m exciting to jump into things and learn everything that I possibly can! I am so appreciative of Cycling Canada for providing me with the opportunity to take part in this adventure 🙂 I think these experiences – CSG and Jeux de la Francophonie – will serve all of us well moving forward into the elite racing field 🙂

As for the rest of the team, Ariane is being a track superstar at junior track worlds and many members of the team will be heading to Track Nationals in Dieppe or Green Mountain Stage Race in Vermont at the end of August. I can’t believe that we are already coming into our final stages of racing for the 2013 road season! It’s been a blast!