Race report: Bonhomme dominates junior field in Charlevoix

This weekend saw the Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery team split into no less than three squads.  Carrie Cartmill flew solo in Ontario at the KW Classic for her second race back from injury, where she finished solidly in the pack as she continues to take steps on her path to recovery.

Part of the team went to the Philadelphia Cycling Classic (more on this later!) and three riders attended the long-running stage race in Charlevoix, Quebec.

Adriane Provost, Ariane Bonhomme and Évélyne Gagnon represented Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery in Charlevoix and made a successful trip of it, with both Ariane and Adriane winning their respective time trials (for Ariane this was her new Stevens Crono’s baptism of fire) and Ariane winning the junior race in her national champion’s jersey.

Ariane Bonhomme

Ariane Bonhomme

Junior Race Report
By Ariane Bonhomme

The first race was the crit and maybe an hour before there was a huge storm so we were sad to race in the rain but the girls and I kept our focus on our race. There were a lot of attacks but nobody was able to go away. In the last lap, I launched a great attack so another girl and I had a little gap but I lost the sprint by the width of a tire.

My time trial went really well and I took the win!

I wasn’t really excited about the hill climb at the end of the day, but I gave everything I had in my legs that day to finish third.

The last stage was the road race. I wanted to win it so badly since it’s probably my last road race until nationals and maybe (hopefully not) my last race as a junior national champion. The weather was really bad but I told myself not to let that affect me. After the first hills there were only three juniors in the main group, and 9 km before the end we dropped another one, so we were only two juniors. I attacked a little less than a kilometre to go and I got a little gap on the second junior to take the win of the road race and the GC by 51 seconds.

