Weekend Racing Highlights

Happy Monday! Here is a brief round-up of the weekend’s racing on the roads, trails and BMX tracks.

Tour of the Catskills: with deep fields in all categories even with the Tour of Elk Grove happening on the same weekend, there was lots of hard fought and fast racing happening in the midst of the Catskill Mountains. The men’s elite race was won by Alister Ratcliff of Bikereg.com/Canondale. Ratcliff’s team mates also took third and fourth respectively in the general classification. Second place was won by Michael Margarite of Stan’s NoTubes / AXA Equitable / CRCA. In the elite women’s race the general classification was won by Susan Palmer-Komar of P-K Express – cycling fans will recognize Palmer-Komar as a stand-out racer who has been a member of the Canadian National Team.

Canadian BMX Championships: the community of Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Quebec was under the spell of BMX this past weekend with the top BMX racers in the country racing for national titles.  Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, BC and Sabrina Millman of Cochrane, Alberta, both racing for the first time as Elite at Canadian Championships, both repeated their gold medal performances on a hot and bright sunny day.

Tory Nyhaug, who was the fastest in Friday’s Time Trials, won the title in his first race as an Elite at a Canadian Championship. Nyhaug, ninth at the UCI World Championshipsn in Supercross just last week, easily advanced to the Superfinals by winning all three races in the preliminary rounds.

“I am really happy. I didn’t have an Elite title yet, so I really wanted to win this weekend. I’m pumped to have won both titles this weekend, the Time Trials and the BMX,” said Nyhaug, 19 years of age and one of Canada’s hopeful for the 2012 Olympic Games. “We have three guys that are world class here. I knew I had to get a good start and get out. I had a good race against them, and really excited to be on the box again. I made two semis and a fourth this season, as well as a podium in the time trials. I want to get back on the box again, and run some good races again.”

On the women’s side, Sabrina Millman of Cochrane, Alberta won her second title in as many days. Millman, who turned Elite as of August 1, continued her domination despite suffering from a broken wrist.

“I feel amazing. I hoped to win, but you never know when you are in a full gate with girls. In a Time Trials, you are all by yourself. In a BMX race, there are people all around you. I just prayed to myself and hoped for the best. I wanted to win so badly, so I needed a good start, which I got, and just gave it my all,” said Millman. “I am going to have to train a lot harder to defend. I know with more training I can do even better.”

Millman trains in Las Vegas, Nevada, but when she’s home, she rides along with her brother on man-made dirt jumps, only metres away from her doorstep at her acreage in the Alberta foothills in Cochrane.

G.P. Vaudreuil: two members of the Stevens Bikes Canada team raced in the 148 km road race on Sunday, August 7. Both Marc Boudreau and Stephen Keeping were active in the 14-man break and finished in 6th and 7th place (no official results available yet). Congrats guys on a strong day out on the bike.

We hope everyone had a great weekend of racing and riding. If you raced and would like to send us a race report – please post a message in the comments or drop me an email.

